Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

Gear · 6 listings

Slow Cookers

the lowest counts in the catalog

Most of this category states a capacity and stops. Two of them describe their controls with a single word and attach no figure to it. One counts its heat settings, and one states no capacity at all. How little there is to count here is the whole point of the category.

The machine underneath: A pot and a slow element

Manual 4

Four listings with manual controls. Their capacity claims run from a plain quart figure to a serving count and a roast weight, and one states no capacity at all.

What differs inside Manual
ListingSettingsCapacityContentsModel code
Crock-Pot SCV700SS 7-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Stainless Steelnot stated7 quartserves 8 or more people, fits a 6-lb roastSCV700SS
bella 1.5qt Manual Slow Cooker, Surf3 heat settings1.5 quartnot statednot stated
Crock-Pot 2-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Blacknot stated2 quartfeeds 2 or more peoplenot stated
Elite Gourmet MST-250XW Electric Ceramic Slow Cookernot statednot statednot statedMST-250XW
  • Quarts, people and pounds

    Crock-Pot SCV700SS 7-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    Crock-Pot SCV700SS 7-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Stainless Steel

    Capacity stated three ways over: in quarts, in people and in pounds of roast. Only the first is a measurement of the pot. The other two are estimates about contents, and the listing does not say how it got from one to the others.

    Capacity
    7 quart
    Contents
    serves 8 or more people, fits a 6-lb roast
    Model code
    SCV700SS
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The pot volume is stated in the unit the category uses
    • The contents claims are at least specific about what they describe
    • Removable stoneware and a warming setting are named plainly
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • A serving count depends on the meal, not the machine
    • A roast weight and a pot volume are different scales presented together
    • Its quart figure is shared with another listing in this category

    Best for
    One pot described in three incompatible units.

    Badge basis
    This contents claim is stated by one listing in the catalog, and it is the only listing here to describe its capacity in three different units.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7 quart, manual control, that it serves 8 or more people, that it fits a 6-lb roast, removable stoneware, a warming setting and dishwasher safe parts

    Check the listing
  • Only heat settings counted here

    bella 1.5qt Manual Slow Cooker, Surf, product image supplied with the listing

    bella 1.5qt Manual Slow Cooker, Surf

    The only slow cooker here that counts its heat settings. It is also the smallest stated pot in this category, and it carries a coating phrase that appears on three other listings in the catalog under two different wordings.

    Settings
    3 heat settings
    Capacity
    1.5 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The heat settings are counted rather than described
    • The volume is stated with its unit
    • The control type is stated plainly
    • The coating phrase is quoted directly rather than paraphrased

    What it leaves out

    • Non-toxic is a seller claim with no defined standard behind it in the listing
    • A heat setting count says nothing about what any setting is
    • No wattage and no temperature figure

    Best for
    The only heat settings in this category that arrive as a number.

    Badge basis
    This setting phrase appears once in the catalog, and it is the only setting count stated by any listing in this category.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 1.5 quart, manual control, 3 heat settings and a non-toxic coating

    Check the listing
  • Oven-safe stoneware stated

    Crock-Pot 2-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Crock-Pot 2-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Black

    A small pot stated in quarts and again in people, with a stoneware claim that covers both an oven and a dishwasher. The people figure is open ended in the same way the seven-quart listing is, and the two open ends are very far apart.

    Capacity
    2 quart
    Contents
    feeds 2 or more people
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The volume is stated with its unit and is unique in this category
    • The stoneware claim names both places it is said to be safe
    • The control type is stated plainly
    • The contents claim names what it is counting

    What it leaves out

    • A serving count is open ended and depends on the meal
    • No wattage and no setting count
    • Nothing states how a two-quart pot arrives at its serving figure

    Best for
    A small pot with the same open-ended serving claim as the big one.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category whose stoneware claim names an oven as well as a dishwasher.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 2 quart, manual control, that it feeds 2 or more people and removable stoneware that is oven and dishwasher safe

    Check the listing
  • No capacity in the listing text

    Elite Gourmet MST-250XW Electric Ceramic Slow Cooker, product image supplied with the listing

    Elite Gourmet MST-250XW Electric Ceramic Slow Cooker

    The listing text quoted here does not state a capacity at all, which makes this the one pot in the category with no volume to compare. Adjustable temperature is stated without a range, without a count of positions and without a unit.

    Model code
    MST-250XW
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The listing does not print a figure it cannot support
    • The dishwasher claim names both the lid and the crock
    • The model code appears in the listing title
    • Adjustable temperature is described honestly as adjustable, not counted

    What it leaves out

    • The manufacturer does not state a capacity in the text quoted here
    • Adjustable temperature has no range, no unit and no number of positions
    • With no volume figure, most comparisons in this category return nothing

    Best for
    The pot that leaves the capacity column empty, and says so.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category that states no capacity, and the gap is unique here.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states adjustable temperature, a dishwasher-safe glass lid and crock; the listing text quoted here states no capacity

    Check the listing

Programmable 2

Two listings that use the word programmable and attach no count to it. Neither says how many programs there are.

What differs inside Programmable
ListingCapacity
Crock-Pot 8-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Black Stainless Steel8 quart
Crock-Pot Design Series 7-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Morning Haze Blue7 quart
  • Programmable, with a warm setting

    Crock-Pot 8-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Black Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    Crock-Pot 8-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Black Stainless Steel

    A capacity, the word programmable and a named setting. The word programmable is doing the work that a preset count does elsewhere in the catalog, and it carries no figure, so there is nothing here to count or to compare.

    Capacity
    8 quart
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The volume is stated with its unit and is unique in this category
    • The auto warm setting is named rather than counted
    • The claim is short and contains nothing undefined by a number
    • Programmable is used as a description rather than dressed as a specification

    What it leaves out

    • Programmable carries no count, so it cannot be compared with a preset figure
    • No wattage and no temperature figure is stated
    • Nothing here says how many programs exist

    Best for
    A control claim with no number attached to it at all.

    Badge basis
    No other listing in this category states this capacity, and this is the larger of the two listings here calling themselves programmable.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 8 quart, programmable control and an auto warm setting

    Check the listing
  • A color name and a capacity

    Crock-Pot Design Series 7-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Morning Haze Blue, product image supplied with the listing

    Crock-Pot Design Series 7-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker, Morning Haze Blue

    Two claims in the whole listing: a capacity and the word programmable. The color name in the title is longer than the specification. Its quart figure is shared with a manual pot elsewhere in this category, and the word programmable is the only thing separating them on paper.

    Capacity
    7 quart
    Not stated
    7 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The volume is stated with its unit
    • Nothing is counted, so nothing is left undefined
    • The claim is short enough to read in one line
    • The control type is stated rather than implied

    What it leaves out

    • Programmable carries no figure of any kind
    • Its capacity is identical to a manual pot in the same category
    • No named settings, no wattage, no temperature figure

    Best for
    The shortest specification in the category, under the longest color name.

    Badge basis
    It is the only listing in this category whose entire stated specification is a capacity plus a control word.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7 quart and programmable control

    Check the listing

Questions with plain answers

What does a serving count tell you?

It tells you what the seller expects a portion to be. Two listings here state serving figures and both are open ended. Neither says what a serving is, and this site does not fill that in.

One listing states no capacity. Is that an error?

It is what the listing text quoted here contains. The field is left empty and labeled as not stated by the manufacturer, rather than filled with a guess from elsewhere.

Is programmable the same as having presets?

The listings do not say. Two of them use the word and neither attaches a figure to it, so there is nothing here to compare against the preset counts in other categories.