Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

HomeApplianceBluff

Every box in this aisle sells itself with a number, and not one of them says what it is counting.

Four-in-one, and ten-in-one. Ten power levels. Seventeen presets. Nine pounds of wings. This site reads 50 listings, records what each one states, and says plainly where two figures cannot be compared, which turns out to be most of the time.

Six counts · 50 listings · 2026

Start with the board

The whole site in one table

The Tally Board

Each row is a category of machine, each column is a kind of number. A cell holds the range of values stated in that category and how many listings state one. Empty cells say so in words.

Range of stated values, and how many listings in that category state one
CategoryIn-One NumbersPresets and ProgramsSettings and LevelsCapacity NumbersWatts and DegreesNumbers That Are Just Names
Electric Pressure Cookers7–10
4 listings
no listing here states oneno listing here states one4 distinct values
4 listings
no listing here states oneno listing here states one
Toastersno listing here states oneno listing here states one4 distinct values
7 listings
2 distinct values
8 listings
900
1 listing
6 distinct values
6 listings
Upright Vacuum Cleanersno listing here states oneno listing here states oneno listing here states one3 distinct values
4 listings
no listing here states one8 distinct values
8 listings
Air Fryers4–9
8 listings
4–17
2 listings
5 fan speeds
1 listing
12 distinct values
12 listings
6 distinct values
6 listings
5 distinct values
5 listings
Slow Cookersno listing here states oneno listing here states one3 heat settings
1 listing
6 distinct values
5 listings
no listing here states one2 distinct values
2 listings
Countertop Microwave Ovensno listing here states one6–12
6 listings
10 power levels
4 listings
3 distinct values
10 listings
700–1000
10 listings
6 distinct values
6 listings

Before anything else on this page

7/10

7 of the 10 countertop microwave listings in this catalog state exactly the same pair of figures: 0.7 cubic feet and 700 watts.

Two of those listings are identical in every figure they state and differ only in the finish named in the title. A number printed on a box separates nothing when the next box prints it too. That is the whole argument of this site, and it is placed here so it sits above every link to a listing further down. Countertop Microwave Ovens

One page each

The six kinds of number

A tally mark for every listing that states a number of this kind. A filled mark means that listing names what it is counting.

  • In-One Numbers

    12listings state one of these

    What is one function?

    No listing here defines the unit

  • Presets and Programs

    8listings state one of these

    What is one preset?

    No listing here defines the unit

  • Settings and Levels

    13listings state one of these

    What is one step?

    No listing here defines the unit

  • Capacity Numbers

    43listings state one of these

    What is being measured, the machine or what goes in it?

    The unit itself is defined somewhere

  • Watts and Degrees

    17listings state one of these

    What does this figure predict?

    The unit itself is defined somewhere

  • Numbers That Are Just Names

    27listings state one of these

    Is this digit measuring anything?

    No listing here defines the unit

An empty light kitchen counter running along white cupboards, with a window and a dining table further back in the room.
Photo: Max Vakhtbovych on Pexels · source

Tool one

Count Compare

Choose a listing on each side. Every row says whether both state a figure of that kind, whether the stated strings match, and whether matching means anything.

Listing on the left

Listing on the right

Comparing
Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black
against Instant Pot Duo Plus 6 Qt 9-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Stainless Steel
Kind of numberLeftRightResult
In-One Numbers10
10places claimed; filled marks are named in the listing
9
9places claimed; filled marks are named in the listing
Both state it, and they are counting different things
Presets and Programsnot statednot statedStated by neither side
Settings and Levelsnot statednot statedStated by neither side
Capacity Numbers8 quart6 quartBoth state it, and they are counting different things
Watts and Degreesnot statednot statedStated by neither side
Numbers That Are Just Namesnot statednot statedStated by neither side

The rules this tool follows

  1. Both sides are chosen from the same catalog of listings. Nothing outside it is available.
  2. A row compares the stated strings exactly, character for character. No unit is converted into any other unit, because no listing converts them either.
  3. The in-one row returns a difference whenever both sides state a figure, because no listing in this catalog says what one of its places contains. Equal figures are not evidence of equal machines.
  4. The listing already chosen on one side is disabled on the other, with the reason printed beside it: a listing compared against itself returns the identical value in every row, so no field of the result could change.
  5. This tool compares what sellers state. It does not compare machines, and it does not rank them.

Under the count

What the machine actually is

Six descriptions at the level the listings support. None of these pages explains how anything works, and none of them tells anybody what to do with a machine.

Beside the figures

The words that travel with the numbers

The phraseWhat it isWho defines itListings using itPage
Non-Toxic · PFAS-FreeThe first phrase states that the seller considers the coating non-toxic. The second states that a named family of substances is absent from it.A published document4Non-Toxic and PFAS-Free
Dishwasher SafeThat the seller considers a named part suitable for a dishwasher. The part is sometimes named and sometimes not.Nobody defines the phrase itself6Dishwasher Safe
HEPAThat a filter meets a defined efficiency specification for retaining particles of a stated size.A published document2HEPA
Child Safety LockThat the machine has a control which the seller describes as a lock.Nobody defines the phrase itself9Child Safety Lock
Auto Shutoff · Cool TouchThe first states that the machine stops itself under some condition. The second states something about the temperature of an exterior surface.Nobody defines the phrase itself2Auto Shutoff and Cool Touch

50

listings read, every figure taken from the listing text alone

8

listings state an in-one figure and then name fewer modes than it claims

7

listings state no capacity at all, and the field is left empty here

27

listings carry a model code whose digits measure nothing

A close view of a row of white rocker switches mounted flush on a pale textured wall.
Photo: Srattha Nualsate on Pexels · source

Tool two

Same Numbers Check

A figure only tells you something if it is not on the next box as well. Pick one that occurs in this catalog and count how many listings print exactly it.

Kind of number

Value stated in the catalog

Result

2 of the 12 listings that state a value for this kind of number state exactly 4. The catalog holds 50 listings in total.

This value does not distinguish anything. More than one listing prints it, so seeing it on a box tells you nothing about which machine you are holding.

Listings stating it

  • Ninja AF141 Air Fryer Pro, 5 Qt, 4-in-1, Grey
  • Ninja FN101ST Crispi Glass Air Fryer, 4-in-1, Stone

Values of this kind stated by exactly one listing: 2 of 6

The formula, printed

matches = listings whose stated string for the chosen kind of number is equal, character for character, to the chosen value
claimants = listings that state any value at all for the chosen kind of number
distinguishing = matches equals one

  1. Comparison is by exact string. No unit is normalized against any other unit, because the listings do not normalize them and this site will not invent a conversion nobody stated.
  2. The values offered are only those that actually occur in the catalog for the kind of number chosen, so no option here can return an empty result and no input is dead.
  3. Changing the kind of number clears the value, because a value from one kind of number is not a value of another kind.
  4. A value stated by exactly one listing is marked as such. That is the only case in this catalog where a printed figure separates one machine from the others.

Said out loud

What this catalog is

Size
The catalog holds 50 listings across 6 categories. Every figure recorded is read from the listing text supplied for that product, and nothing is filled in from anywhere else.
One brand
Electric Pressure Cookers: every listing in that category carries one brand name, Instant. That is a fact about the catalog, not about the market, and it means the category cannot support a comparison between makers.
Filed loosely
4 listings sit in a category their own text does not quite match: Shark HV301 Rocket Corded Stick Vacuum, Gray and Orange; Cuisinart TOA-70NAS Air Fryer Toaster Oven, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel; CHEFMAN Multifunctional Digital Air Fryer with Rotisserie, 10L, Black; Ninja FN101ST Crispi Glass Air Fryer, 4-in-1, Stone. Each carries the difference on its own card and in its subgroup note, rather than having it smoothed away.
Two that match
2 microwave listings state identical values in every counted field. The finish named in the title is the difference between them, and this site does not invent a second one.
Empty fields
7 listings state no capacity. Those fields stay empty and are labeled as not stated by the manufacturer, because a guess in a field is worse than a gap.

Plain answers

Six questions this catalog can answer

Does a bigger in-one number mean a better machine?

Nothing in this catalog defines a place in an in-one count, so a larger figure is a larger claim and not a larger anything else. Two pots here state the same figure over different sets of modes.

Are a preset and a program the same thing?

No listing says. Both words appear in this catalog, sometimes on identical figures, and no listing here names a single one of the presets or programs it counts.

Can I compare a dust cup in quarts with one in liters?

Not on this site. The listings never convert between units, so neither does this catalog. Converting would mean printing a figure no seller stated.

Why do so many microwaves state the same two numbers?

That is the finding, not the explanation. This catalog records that the pair repeats and says so on the category page. Why sellers converge on it is not something the listings answer.

Does this site test anything?

No. Nobody here has cooked with, cleaned or vacuumed anything. Every figure is read out of a listing, and every sentence about a figure is a sentence about what a seller wrote.

Where do I find out how to use one of these?

The manual that came with your machine. This site publishes no operating guidance of any kind, and it will not answer a question of that shape by email either.

One from each category

What a listing looks like once it is written down

Each card records what the listing states, what it leaves out, and the basis of the badge it carries. No prices, no ratings, and nothing here has been used by anybody.

  • Largest stated count here

    Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black

    10places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    The listing states a ten-in-one machine of eight quarts, then names slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, keep warm and sous vide. The names run short of the count, and the listing does not say what fills the difference. It carries the highest in-one figure stated anywhere in this catalog.

    In-one
    10
    Capacity
    8 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The listing names most of what it counts, which is unusual in this aisle
    • Capacity is given in quarts, the unit shared by every pot filed here
    • The in-one figure appears in the title rather than only in the bullet text
    • The listing describes an accompanying app with guided recipes

    What it leaves out

    • The listing never says what counts as one of the ten
    • Some of the ten are not named anywhere in the listing text
    • No wattage is stated, so the count sits next to nothing measurable

    Best for
    Reading the gap between a count and the list of names printed under it.

    Badge basis
    Its in-one figure is the highest stated in this category, and no other listing here states the same figure.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 10-in-1, 8 quart, slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, keep warm, sous vide and an app with guided recipes

    Check the listing
  • Only toaster stating watts

    Amazon Basics 2 Slice Toaster, Black and Silver, product image supplied with the listing

    Amazon Basics 2 Slice Toaster, Black and Silver

    The listing states two slices, extra wide slots, a browning scale, a removable crumb tray, defrost, cancel and bagel buttons, cord wrap and a wattage. It is the only toaster in this category whose listing states a wattage at all, which makes the figure impossible to compare against its neighbors.

    Settings
    6 browning settings
    Capacity
    2 slices
    Watts
    900
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The only listing in this category that states a wattage
    • The browning scale is counted rather than described as high or low
    • Named buttons are listed separately from the browning scale
    • Slice count and slot description are both given

    What it leaves out

    • The stated wattage has nothing to sit beside, because no other toaster here states one
    • The listing calls its scale browning settings while others call the same thing shades
    • Nothing in the listing says what one browning setting is

    Best for
    Watching a number arrive with no second example to compare it to.

    Badge basis
    This wattage figure appears once in this category, and no other listing filed here states a wattage of any size.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states two slices, extra wide slots for bagels, 6 browning settings, a removable crumb tray, defrost, cancel and bagel buttons, cord wrap and 900W

    Check the listing
  • Dust cup measured, floor not

    Shark ZU102 Rotator Pet Upright Vacuum, Charcoal, product image supplied with the listing

    Shark ZU102 Rotator Pet Upright Vacuum, Charcoal

    Two brand phrases and one measurement. The dust cup is stated in liters, which is a real number about the tank, and everything else in the listing is a name. This category sells tank figures and calls them performance, and this listing is the shortest example of it.

    Capacity
    2.9 L dust cup
    Model code
    ZU102
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The dust cup is measured rather than described as large
    • The stated figure is unique in this category
    • The listing is short enough that the one number is easy to find
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • Its dust cup unit differs from the quart figures elsewhere in this category
    • PowerFins HairPro and Odor Neutralizer Technology are names, not figures
    • No wattage, no filter claim and no tool count

    Best for
    The tank measured, and nothing else in the listing measured at all.

    Badge basis
    This dust cup figure is stated by one listing in the catalog, and the listing makes no measured claim about anything else.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states PowerFins HairPro, Odor Neutralizer Technology and a 2.9 L dust cup

    Check the listing
  • Highest in-one count in this category

    Cosori TurboBlaze 6 Qt 9-in-1 Air Fryer, product image supplied with the listing

    Cosori TurboBlaze 6 Qt 9-in-1 Air Fryer

    9places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    This listing states more separate figures than any other basket fryer here: an in-one count, a capacity, a temperature range, a fan speed count and a wattage. It also carries the highest in-one figure in this category. None of the nine places is named.

    In-one
    9
    Settings
    5 fan speeds
    Capacity
    6 quart
    Watts
    1725
    Max temp
    90 to 450F
    Not stated
    3 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Five different counted or measured claims in one listing
    • The temperature claim is stated as a range with both ends given
    • Fan speeds are counted separately from the in-one figure
    • The wattage is stated, which most of this category skips

    What it leaves out

    • None of the nine places in the in-one figure is named
    • A fan speed count and an in-one count are different kinds of number sold as one claim
    • The coating and lock claims are seller statements with no figure attached

    Best for
    The listing with the most numbers on it, and the fewest of them defined.

    Badge basis
    Its in-one figure is the highest stated in this category, and it is stated by this listing alone.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 9-in-1, 6 quart, a PFAS-free ceramic coating, 90 to 450F, 5 fan speeds, a safety lock and 1725W

    Check the listing
  • Quarts, people and pounds

    Crock-Pot SCV700SS 7-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    Crock-Pot SCV700SS 7-Quart Manual Slow Cooker, Stainless Steel

    Capacity stated three ways over: in quarts, in people and in pounds of roast. Only the first is a measurement of the pot. The other two are estimates about contents, and the listing does not say how it got from one to the others.

    Capacity
    7 quart
    Contents
    serves 8 or more people, fits a 6-lb roast
    Model code
    SCV700SS
    Not stated
    5 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The pot volume is stated in the unit the category uses
    • The contents claims are at least specific about what they describe
    • Removable stoneware and a warming setting are named plainly
    • The model code appears in the listing title

    What it leaves out

    • A serving count depends on the meal, not the machine
    • A roast weight and a pot volume are different scales presented together
    • Its quart figure is shared with another listing in this category

    Best for
    One pot described in three incompatible units.

    Badge basis
    This contents claim is stated by one listing in the catalog, and it is the only listing here to describe its capacity in three different units.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7 quart, manual control, that it serves 8 or more people, that it fits a 6-lb roast, removable stoneware, a warming setting and dishwasher safe parts

    Check the listing
  • The shared pair, presets and levels both counted

    Chefman Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Chefman Countertop Microwave Oven, 0.7 Cu.Ft, 700W, Black

    6presets claimed; the listing names none of them

    It states the pair of figures that most of this category states, and then adds two counts the pair does not include: a power level count and a preset count. Neither of those counts is defined, and the presets are not named.

    Presets
    6 cooking presets
    Settings
    10 power levels
    Capacity
    0.7 cubic feet
    Watts
    700
    Not stated
    4 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • It states two counted figures on top of the pair its neighbors share
    • Power levels and presets are counted separately rather than added together
    • Eco mode and the mute button are named rather than folded into a count
    • Both figures in the shared pair are stated with their units

    What it leaves out

    • The pair of figures it leads with is shared with several other listings here
    • None of the presets is named
    • Nothing states what one power level is, or how it differs from the next

    Best for
    The shared pair, with two extra counts stacked on top of it.

    Badge basis
    It states the cavity and wattage pair that several listings here share, and it is the only listing in this category to call its presets cooking presets.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 0.7 cubic feet, 700 watts, 10 power levels, 6 cooking presets, one-touch express cook, eco mode, a child safety lock and a mute button

    Check the listing