Skip to the page
HomeApplianceBluff

Gear · 4 listings

Electric Pressure Cookers

one pot, and a number that keeps changing

Every electric pressure cooker in this catalog carries the same brand name. That is a fact about how this catalog was assembled, not a finding about the market, and it means nothing here can be read as a comparison between makers. What it does let you see clearly is one company counting the same kind of machine four different ways.

The machine underneath: A sealed pot with a valve

One brand, stated plainly

Every listing in this category carries a single brand name, Instant. That is a fact about how this catalog was assembled, not a finding about the market, and it means nothing on this page can be read as a comparison between makers.

Every listing here 4

No subgroups. Every pot filed here is stated in quarts and controlled the same way, so the only figure that separates them is the one on the front of the box.

What differs inside this category
ListingIn-oneCapacity
Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black108 quart
Instant Pot Duo Plus 6 Qt 9-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Stainless Steel96 quart
Instant Pot Duo 7-in-1 Mini Electric Pressure Cooker, 3 Quart, Stainless Steel73 quart
Instant Pot Rio Mini 4 Qt 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black74 quart
  • Largest stated count here

    Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Instant Pot Pro 8 Qt 10-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black

    10places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    The listing states a ten-in-one machine of eight quarts, then names slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, keep warm and sous vide. The names run short of the count, and the listing does not say what fills the difference. It carries the highest in-one figure stated anywhere in this catalog.

    In-one
    10
    Capacity
    8 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The listing names most of what it counts, which is unusual in this aisle
    • Capacity is given in quarts, the unit shared by every pot filed here
    • The in-one figure appears in the title rather than only in the bullet text
    • The listing describes an accompanying app with guided recipes

    What it leaves out

    • The listing never says what counts as one of the ten
    • Some of the ten are not named anywhere in the listing text
    • No wattage is stated, so the count sits next to nothing measurable

    Best for
    Reading the gap between a count and the list of names printed under it.

    Badge basis
    Its in-one figure is the highest stated in this category, and no other listing here states the same figure.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 10-in-1, 8 quart, slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, keep warm, sous vide and an app with guided recipes

    Check the listing
  • Second-largest stated count here

    Instant Pot Duo Plus 6 Qt 9-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    Instant Pot Duo Plus 6 Qt 9-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Stainless Steel

    9places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    A nine-in-one of six quarts. The listing names slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, sterilizer and keep warm, and the names again fall short of the number. Nothing in the listing explains why a sterilizer occupies one place and keep warm occupies another.

    In-one
    9
    Capacity
    6 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • Most of the places in the count are named in the listing text
    • Quarts again, so the capacity sits on the same scale as the rest of this category
    • The listing separates sterilizer from the cooking names rather than folding it in
    • The stated count is unique among the four pots filed here

    What it leaves out

    • Part of the count goes unnamed
    • A count of nine cannot be checked against a count of ten while neither defines a place
    • No wattage and no temperature figure is stated

    Best for
    Seeing how a count and a list of names can disagree without either being wrong.

    Badge basis
    Only one listing in this category states a higher in-one figure, and this figure is stated by this listing alone.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 9-in-1, 6 quart, slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, sterilizer, keep warm and an app with guided recipes

    Check the listing
  • Smallest stated capacity here

    Instant Pot Duo 7-in-1 Mini Electric Pressure Cooker, 3 Quart, Stainless Steel, product image supplied with the listing

    Instant Pot Duo 7-in-1 Mini Electric Pressure Cooker, 3 Quart, Stainless Steel

    7places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    A seven-in-one of three quarts, and here the names reach the count: slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, warmer and sterilizer. It carries the smallest capacity stated in this category. The listing also advertises an app, which is a claim about software rather than about the pot.

    In-one
    7
    Capacity
    3 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The number of named modes matches the stated in-one figure
    • The smallest stated pot here, and the only listing stating that capacity
    • Every named mode is a word rather than a code, so nothing hides behind an abbreviation
    • Capacity is stated in the same unit as the rest of this category

    What it leaves out

    • Matching names to the count still does not define what a place is
    • The recipe figure describes an app, not the machine
    • No wattage is stated, so the count stands on its own

    Best for
    The one listing in this category where the names add up to the number on the front.

    Badge basis
    No other listing in this category states this capacity, and none states a smaller one.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7-in-1, 3 quart, slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt, warmer and sterilizer, and a free app with over 1900 recipes

    Check the listing
  • Same count, different list

    Instant Pot Rio Mini 4 Qt 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black, product image supplied with the listing

    Instant Pot Rio Mini 4 Qt 7-in-1 Electric Pressure Cooker, Black

    7places claimed in the in-one figure; filled marks are named in the listing

    Another seven-in-one, this one of four quarts, naming slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt and keep warm. It shares its in-one figure with one other pot filed here, and the two listings do not name the same set of modes.

    In-one
    7
    Capacity
    4 quart
    Not stated
    6 of the counted fields

    What the listing gives you

    • The capacity figure is unique among the pots filed here
    • Most of the places in the count are named
    • The listing keeps its claim short, with no app or recipe figure attached
    • Quarts again, so the figure is comparable inside this category

    What it leaves out

    • Part of the count is never named
    • It shares its stated count with another pot that names a different set
    • Neither wattage nor a temperature figure is stated

    Best for
    The clearest case of two identical counts covering two different lists.

    Badge basis
    Its in-one figure is also stated by another listing in this category, and the two listings name different sets of modes.

    Quoted from the listing
    listing states 7-in-1, 4 quart, slow cook, rice, steam, saute, yogurt and keep warm

    Check the listing

Questions with plain answers

Do the in-one figures on these listings mean the same thing?

Nothing in any of these listings defines a place in the count, so there is no way to tell from the listings. Two of them state the same figure and then name different sets of modes, which is the clearest evidence available here that the unit is not fixed.

Why is every pressure cooker here from one brand?

That is how the catalog was supplied. It is stated plainly on this page and on the home page because a single-brand category cannot support any claim about brands, and pretending otherwise would be the exact trick this site exists to point at.

Does a higher in-one figure mean a larger pot?

Not in this catalog. The largest stated capacity here belongs to the machine with the highest in-one figure, but the smallest stated capacity belongs to a machine that states the same in-one figure as a larger one. The two numbers are not linked.

What is a sealed pressure cooker, as far as this site goes?

A sealed vessel with a heating element and a valve. This site describes what the machine is and points at the regulator that publishes recalls for appliances. It gives no operating guidance of any kind.